General information
Title CZMirandolina
Subtitle CZkomická opera o třech dějstvích
Title ENMirandolina
Subtitle ENcomic opera in three acts
Title DEMirandolina
Subtitle DEkomische Oper in drei Aufzügen
CategoryStage Works and Film Music
Halbreich number346
Parts of the composition (movements)1st act: 8 scenes, orchestral intermezzo before the 8th scene *** 2nd act: 6 scenes, orchestral intermezzo before the 2nd scene; a separate ballet scene "Sartarello" at the end of the second act (see H 346 A) *** 3rd act: 6 scenes, orchestral intermezzo before the 4th scene
Durata103' (35' + 31' + 4' [Sartarello] + 33')
List of charactersknight di Rippafratta (B), marquis di Forlimpopoli (B), count d'Albafiorita (T), Mirandolina (S), comedians Ortensia and Dejanira (S, A), Fabrizio (T), the knight's servant (T), jeweller (Sp), ballet
Place of compositionNice
Year of origin1954
Initiation of composition15.12.1953
Completion of composition01.07.1954
First performance
Performer Václav Kašlík (dir./cond.), Luděk Mandaus (režie/director), František Tröster (scéna/scen.), Antonín Landa (choreografie), Maria Tauberová (Mirandolina), Přemysl Kočí (di Rippafratta), Oldřich Kovář (d'Albafiorita), Jaroslav Horáček (di Forlimpopoli)
Horáček, Jaroslav
Kašlík, Václav
Kočí, Přemysl
Kovář, Oldřich
Landa, Antonín
Mandaus, Luděk
Tauberová, Maria
Tröster, František
Date of the first performance1959-05-17
Location of the first performancePrague, Smetana's Theatre (nowadays State Opera)
Ensemble Orchestr a balet Smetanova divadla
Autograph deposition
InstitutionBärenreiter, Kassel
Deposition locationGermany
OwnerBärenreiter, Kassel
Note on the autograph depostitionThe piano reduction by a copyist's hand and 1 page of the autograph list of corrections are also held by the Bärenreiter-Verlag, Kassel.
CopyrightBärenreiter, Kassel
Purchase linkbuy
References Related writings
Documents in the Library
Note Libretto (Italian) by B. Martinů after Carlo Goldoni's play La Locandiera. *** German translation of the libretto by Carl Stueber, Czech translation by Rudolf Vonásek. *** Second act completed on 07.05.1954, third act on 23.06.1954, Saltarello on 30.06.1954. *** Arrangement for chamber orchestra was made originally for Opera Trionfo in Netherlands (Anthony Fiumara, Bart Visman, 2011), later eg. at the Munich Opera Studio. Instrumentation: 1121-1110-Timp-Batt-Arpa-Pf-Archi.
About the composition

detailed information being currently revised

« previous
ID 268 (entry 1 / 0)
next »