General information
Mail type Letter
SenderFournier, Pierre
Sender (corporation)
Sender location
Send date03.01.1939
Recipient- adresát neznámý,
Recipient (corporation)BBC Symphony Orchestra
Recipient location
Note on recipient location(Mr. Phillip)
AcquiredAcquired from Gregory Terian in 2017.
Former owner
OwnerBBC Archives, London
Call number at owner
Call number at IBMFou 1939-01-03
Content and physical description
ContentPierre Fournier is glad to know that there will be a chance of placing CONCERTO FOR VIOLONCELLO AND ORCHESTRA No. 1, H 196 I, and sends Mr. Phillip requested details. The orchestration is: string orchestra, two flutes, two oboes, two clarinets, two bassoons, two horns, two trumpets [PF does not mention two trombones, percussion and piano. The exact timing is 23 minutes. The work could be done on one rehearsal with me but it is necessary to read the orchestra writing once before. The performing material is to be required from Éditions Max Eschig in Paris. The best period for PF is the end of February (26-28) and beginning of March (1 or 3, he is playing in Bournemouth on 2 March). He would be glad if the eventual concert at the BBC could take place as near as possible to the Bournemouth concert.
Total number of leaves
Number of pages bearing text2
NoteApparetly first radio broadcast of Concerto for violoncello and orchestra No. 1, H 196 I (27 February 1939, cond. Julian Clifford, BBC Symphony Orchestra, BBC Studio, London).
Markingsinscriptions in unidentified hand (red and lead pencil)

Preview only available at the Institute.

Quality of digitizationNot professional colour
Digitized atBBC Archives, London
Date of digitization
Note on digitization
Location as subject
Corporation as subject
Composition as subject
« previous
ID 6126 (entry 1 / 0)
next »