General information
Title CZRytmické etudy
Subtitle CZpro housle a klavír
Title ENRhythmic Etudes
Subtitle ENfor violin and piano
Title DERhythmische Etüden [auth.]
Subtitle DEfür Violine und Klavier
Title FRÉtudes rythmiques
Subtitle FRpour violon et piano
CategoryChamber Music
Halbreich number202
Parts of the composition (movements)1. Allegro; 2. Poco allegretto; 3. Moderato; 4. Allegretto moderato; 5. Andantino; 6. Allegro moderato; 7. Allegretto
InstrumentsVl Pf
Place of compositionParis
Year of origin1932
Initiation of composition1932
Completion of composition18.03.1932
First performance
Performer Petr Rybář (Vl), Frank Polák-Pelleg (Pf)
Pollak-Pelleg, Frank
Rybář, Petr
Date of the first performance1933-02-03
Location of the first performancePrague, Municipal House (Obecní dům)
Autograph deposition
InstitutionSchott Music GmbH & Co.
Deposition locationMainz
OwnerSchott Music, Mainz
Note on the autograph depostitionFacsimile of the autograph located at the Bohuslav Martinů Centre in Polička.
CopyrightSchott Music, Mainz
Purchase linkbuy
References Related correspondence
Documents in the Library
About the composition

The Rhythmic Etudes for violin and piano comes from the same year as the Seven Arabesques for violin and piano, H 201 A., and the Sonata no. 2 for violin and piano, H 208. In contrast with the Arabesques - the work with which they make for easiest comparison - the Rhythmic Etudes concentrate rather on instructing the young musician in rhythm. They are intended for advanced amateurs, and Martinů's piano part here comprises only one stave.

Aleš Březina, Martinů: Works for Violin and Piano 2, © 1999 Supraphon Music a.s 

« previous
ID 441 (entry 1 / 0)
next »