General information
Title CZŠach králi
Subtitle CZjazzový balet o 1 dějství
Title ENCheck to the King
Subtitle ENjazz-ballet in 1 act
Title DESchach dem König
Subtitle DEJazz-Ballett in einem Aufzug
Title FRÉchec au Roi [auth.]
Subtitle FRballet en 1 acte [auth.]
CategoryStage Works and Film Music
Halbreich number186
Parts of the composition (movements)1. Allegro vivo; 2. Poco allegro - Moderato - Allegro marcia; 3. Valse - Boston; 4. Allegro; 5. Allegro moderato; 6. Blues; 7. Allegro; 8. Finale (Allegro vivo)
Durata27' 30''
Instruments2222-2230-Timp-Batt(GC-Ptti-Tamb mil/picc-Tbrino-Trgl)-Pf-Archi-Sp-A(alt - ad lib.)
Place of compositionParis
Year of origin1930
Initiation of composition10.01.1930
Completion of composition17.02.1930
First performance
Performer Jan Štych (dir./cond.), Luboš Ogoun (choreografie), Vojtěch Štolfa (scéna/scenography)
Ogoun, Luboš
Štolfa, Vojtěch
Štych, Jan
Date of the first performance1980-04-11
Location of the first performanceBrno, National Theatre (Národní divadlo)
Autograph deposition
InstitutionCzech Museum of Music
Deposition locationPrague
OwnerNational Museum – Czech Museum of Music, Department of Music History, Prague
Note on the autograph depostitionOnly autograph piano reduction held by the Czech Museum of Music. *** Facsimile of the autograph score located at the Éditions Max Eschig in Paris and at the Bohuslav Martinů Centre in Polička.
CopyrightÉditions Max Eschig, Paris
Purchase linkbuy
References Related writings
Documents in the Library
Note Libretto/synopsis (in French) by André Coeuroy.
About the composition

detailed information being currently revised

« previous
ID 434 (entry 1 / 0)
next »