General information
Title CZPět krátkých skladeb
Subtitle CZpro housle a klavír
Title ENFive Short Pieces
Subtitle ENfor violin and piano
Title DEFünf kurze Stücke
Subtitle DEfür Violine und Klavier
Title FRCinq pièces brèves [auth.]
Subtitle FRpour violon et piano [auth.]
CategoryChamber Music
SubcategoryDuos for Violin and Piano
Halbreich number and suffix184
Parts of composition (movements)1. Allegro moderato; 2. Andante; 3. Allegretto moderato; 4. Allegro vivo (Presto); 5. Allegro (Poco moderato)
InstrumentsVl Pf
Solo voice
List of characters
Dedicatee Šafránek, Miloš
Diplomatic transcription of dedicationP. dr. Miloši Šafránkovi | ku vzpomínce na Paříž | od | B. Martinů
Note on dedicationDedication to Miloš Šafránek on the first page of the draft.
Place of composition
Year of origin1930
Initiation of composition1930
Finishing of composition14.04.1930
Last modification of composition
First performance
Performer Odette Rithère (Vl), Tibor Harsányi (Pf)
Harsányi, Tibor
Rithere, Odette
Date of first performance05.05.1930
Location of first performanceThéâtre des Champs-Élysées, Paris
Autograph deposition
InstitutionÉditions Alphonse Leduc
Deposition location
OwnerÉditions Alphonse Leduc, Paris
Note on autographAutograph solo (violin) part also located at the Éditions Alphonse Leduc. *** Draft, fascimile of the autograph and printed score (1930) with autograph dedication to Miloš Šafránek held by Bohuslav Martinů Centre in Polička.
Place of issue
PublisherÉditions Alphonse Leduc
Year of publication1930
CopyrightÉditions Alphonse Leduc, Paris
Purchase linkbuy
NoteTitle on the first page of the autograph: "5 pièces brèves. pour violon et piano"; location of the first performance mentioned in text about B. Martinů from his sister Marie Martinů (Mar 1936-00-00b)

In closest proximity to the first violin sonata, both chronologically and stylistically, are the Five Short Pieces for violin and piano. Here, too, jazz elements are still quite pronounced, although by now Martinů uses them in a somewhat less showy manner, and they have become rather simply one of the component aspects of his musical language. Each of these five character pieces grows from one rhythmic idea, which it then exploits to the full. Martinů dedicated the set to his friend Miloš Šafránek, cultural attaché at the Czechoslovak embassy in Paris.

Aleš Březina, Martinů: Works for Violin and Piano, © 1999 Supraphon Music a.s 


« previous
ID 432 (entry 1 / 0)
next »