General information
Title CZSonáta d moll pro housle a klavír
Title ENSonata in D Minor for Violin and Piano
Title DESonate in d-Moll für Violine und Klavier
Title FRSonate en ré mineur pour violon et piano
CategoryChamber Music
SubcategoryDuos for Violin and Piano
Halbreich number152
Parts of the composition (movements)1. Allegro moderato; 2. Andante moderato; 3. Allegro
InstrumentsVl Pf
Dedicatee Novák, Stanislav
Šolc, Karel
Note on the dedicationStanislav Novák, Karel Šolc
Place of compositionParis
Year of origin1926
Initiation of composition1926
Completion of composition02/1926
First performance
Performer Grumlíková, Nora
Kolář, Jaroslav
Date of the first performance30.03.1963
Location of the first performancePrague
Note on the first performanceNora Grumlíková (Vl), Jaroslav Kolář (Pf)
Autograph deposition
InstitutionCzech Museum of Music
OwnerČeské muzeum hudby
Note on the autograph depostitionSketches (16 pages) also located at the Czech Museum of Music.
CopyrightSchott Music, Mainz
Purchase linkbuy
Panton, Prague, 1966
Call number at the BM Institute: 1055
Specification of the edition: 1st edition
Details of this edition
Panton, Prague, 1966
Call number at the BM Institute: 1055a
Specification of the edition: Re-edition of the 1st edition (1966)
Details of this edition
References Related writings
Documents in the Library
Note Title on the title page of the autograph score: "Sonate".
About the composition

The Sonata in D minor may well be regarded as a transitional work, it does, however, reveal a number of qualities quite new in Martinů's oeuvre, notably those of moderation and balance. Although it was written following the composer's three-year residence in Paris, this sonata gives the impression of having arisen largely from musical material acquired by Martinů while he was still in Prague. Frequently in this work we witness the struggle between the composer's former style and those newer expressive means (particularly jazz rhythms), with which he had become acquainted during the period of his studies with Albert Roussel. Alongside such early Parisian milestones as the orchestral works Half-Time, H 142 (1924) and Vřava, H 155 (La Bagarre, 1926) or the Three Czech Dances for piano, H 154 (1926) or, in particular, the String Quartet No. 2, H 150 (1925), this sonata would still appear to be an immature work.

Aleš Březina, Martinů: Works for Violin and Piano, © 1999 Supraphon Music a.s 

« previous
ID 421 (entry 1 / 0)
next »