General information
Title CZSonáta C dur pro housle a klavír
Title ENSonata in C Major for Violin and Piano
Title DESonate in C dur für Violine und Klavier
CategoryChamber Music
Halbreich number120
Parts of the composition (movements)1. Allegretto (Moderato) 2. Scherzo: Largo - Presto 3. Andante (Largo) 4. Allegro
Durata31' 20''
InstrumentsVl Pf
Dedicatee Novák, Stanislav
Šolc, Karel
Diplomatic transcription of the dedicationMilým hochům | Stáňovi | a | K. Šolcovi | věnuji. | Bohouš
Note on the dedicationDedicated to nice lads Stanislav Novák and Karel Šolc. Bohouš
Place of compositionPolička
Year of origin1919
Initiation of composition03.01.1919
Completion of composition02.02.1919
First performance
Autograph deposition
InstitutionBohuslav Martinů Centre in Polička
Deposition locationPolička
OwnerBohuslav Martinů Foundation, Prague
Note on the autograph depostitionSketches and facsimile of the autograph score are held by the Bohuslav Martinů Centre in Polička as well.
CopyrightSchott Music
Purchase linkbuy
Panton, Prague, 1981
Call number at the BM Institute: 1048
Specification of the edition: 2nd edition
Details of this edition
Panton, Prague, 1981
Call number at the BM Institute: 1048a,b
Specification of the edition: Reprint of the 2nd edition (1981)
Details of this edition
References Related writings
Documents in the Library
About the composition

Whilst the expansive four-movement Sonata in C major is an interesting piece of composition, it is nonetheless an imitative work that points quite openly to its model, Franck's Sonata in A major. It is characterized by "Faustian" subject matter and internally by the scarcity and disparateness of its themes. The second movement is an attempt at a "demonic" scherzo indebted to the aesthetic of the late 19th century, its theme being a reminder of the Dies irae sequence so favored by various composers of that time, among them Berlioz, Liszt, and Mahler. His fully chroma­tic musical material drives Martinů on to ever greater heroic heights, which at the close are eventually "redeemed" by the "purgatorial" Maestoso and by the subsequent Grandioso in C major.

Aleš Březina, Martinů: Works for Violin and Piano, © 1999 Supraphon Music a.s 

« previous
ID 404 (entry 1 / 0)
next »