General information
Title CZŘecké pašije
Subtitle CZopera o 4 dějstvích - 2. verze
Title ENThe Greek Passion
Subtitle ENopera in 4 acts - 2nd version
Title DEGriechische Passion
Subtitle DEOper in vier Aufzügen - Zweite Fassung
Title FR
Subtitle FR
CategoryStage Works and Film Music
Halbreich number and suffix372 II
Parts of composition (movements)
Solo voiceFlauto dolce S, A, T; Cl; Fisarm; Vl (na scéně/on stage)
List of charactersKaterina (S / mS), Lenio (S), Manolios (T), Yannakos (T), Michelis (T), Panait (T), Nikolio (T), Grigoris (BBar), Patriarcheus (BBar) [called Archon in the first version], Fotis (BBar), Kostandis (B), Andonis (T), Dimitri (Bar), Ladas (Sp), several smaller patrs, boy choir, 2 mixed choirs [few smaller roles are missing in comparison with the 1st version - the Captain and the Schoolmaster in the 1st act, Dimitri in the 3rd act, narrator]
Diplomatic transcription of dedication
Note on dedication
Place of composition
Year of origin1959
Initiation of composition02/1958
Finishing of composition15.01.1959
Last modification of composition
First performance
Performer Paul Sacher (dir./cond.), Herbert Graf (režie/direction), Teo Otto (scéna/scenography), Sandra Warfield (Katerina), Glade Peterson (Manolios), Robert Kerns (Kostandis), Heinz Borst (Fotis), James Pease (Grigoris)
Borst, Heinz
Graf, Herbert
Kerns, Robert
Otto, Teo
Pease, James
Peterson, Glade
Sacher, Paul
Warfield, Sandra
Date of first performance09.06.1961
Location of first performanceZurich, Switzerland
Ensemble Chor des Stadttheaters Zürich, Chor des Stadttheaters Luzern
Autograph deposition
InstitutionVienna City Library
Deposition location
OwnerUniversal Edition, Vienna
Note on autographIncomplete fair copy with corrections, sketch of the 1st scene of the 1st act and various fragments held by the Paul Sacher Stiftung in Basel.
Place of issue
PublisherUniversal Edition
Year of publication1961
CopyrightUniversal Edition, Vienna
Purchase linkbuy
NoteLibretto (in English) by B. Martinů after Nikos Kazantzakis' novel "Christ Recrucified" (see the 1st version; slightly altered, shortened). *** English translation of the libretto by Brian Large. *** Second, "Zurich" version.

detailed information being currently revised


« previous
ID 366 (entry 1 / 0)
next »